GLUTEN CONTAINING PRODUCT LIST

GLUTEN CONTAINING PRODUCT LIST

There is great hype about gluten these days and it is for a very good reason. There are many who suffer from gluten sensitivities, gluten allergies and even celiac disease that go undiagnosed or misdiagnosed for years. However, not everyone has gluten issues. I encourage my clients to go gluten-free for 3-4 weeks then slowly incorporate gluten back into their diet for a few days and see how they feel. If they have gluten issues – the majority of them know immediately! If you think you may have gluten issues and you are interested in going gluten-free below is a list of products containing gluten. Be aware gluten-free foods can take many forms these days. Today you can easily find plenty of gluten-free alternatives to many staple foods. These can be anything from gluten-free pizza to gluten-free pop tarts to gluten-free bread to gluten-free cookies. However, as you might guess, not all of these alternatives are necessarily healthy, just because they are gluten-free. Many of these products are laced with unhealthy additives and preservatives.  If you are experiencing gluten intolerance symptoms or you are not sure and want to take the challenge, the products on this page should be avoided. PRINT THIS OUT  & KEEP IN YOUR PURSE!

The following grains and starches contain gluten:
Wheat
Wheat germ
Rye
Barley
Bulgur
Couscous
Farina
Graham flour
Kamut Matzo
Semolina
Spelt
Triticale

The following foods often contain gluten:
malt/malt flavoring
soups
commercial bullion and broths
cold cuts
French fries (often dusted with flour before freezing)
processed cheese (e.g., Velveeta)
mayonnaise
ketchup
malt vinegar
soy sauce and teriyaki sauces
salad dressings
imitation crab meat, bacon, etc
egg substitute
tabbouleh
sausage
non-dairy creamer
fried vegetables/tempura
gravy
marinades
canned baked beans
cereals
commercially prepared chocolate milk
breaded foods
fruit fillings and puddings
hot dogs
ice cream
root beer
energy bars
trail mix
syrups
seitan
wheatgrass
instant hot drinks
flavored coffees and teas blue cheeses
vodka
wine coolers
meatballs, meatloaf communion wafers
veggie burgers
roasted nuts
beer
oats (unless certified GF)
oat bran (unless certified GF)

The following are miscellaneous sources of gluten:
shampoos
cosmetics
lipsticks, lip balm
Play-Doh
medications
non self-adhesive stamps and envelopes
vitamins and supplements (check label)

The following ingredients are often “code” for gluten:
Avena sativa Cyclodextrin
Dextrin
Fermented grain extract
Hordeum distichon
Hordeum vulgare
Hydrolysate
Hydrolyzed malt extract
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
Maltodextrin
Phytosphingosine extract
Samino peptide complex
Secale cereale
Triticum aestivum
Triticum vulgare
Tocopherol/vitamin E
Yeast extract
Natural flavoring
Brown rice syrup
Modified food starch
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
Hydrolyzed soy protein
Caramel color (frequently made from barley)

21 Day CLEAN UP YOUR DIET THE GLUTEN FREE WAY COMING IN JANUARY! 

 

 

Become the best version of you

Get FREE recipes that rock, encouragement, inspiration, & updates.

GO

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *